Historical Tidbit: Joppa Grill

Printed on the back of the pen and ink postcard: “Member Mass. & National Restaurant Association; comfortably air-conditioned. Joppa Grill is located in the historic village of Elmwood, Mass., originally called Joppa. The first house was built in 1662 by Thomas Whitman. In 1682 a tannery was started by Ensign Edward Mitchell who employed a tanner by the name of Simon, and as the Bible speaks of “Simon, a tanner from Joppa,” the name Joppa was given to the village; Bob and Harriett Hall. “better food” Fine pastries; Joppa breadsticks (we do not serve wines or liquors); open 11:30 noon to 7:30 PM, closed Mondays and Tuesdays (except holidays); Tel. E.B. DRake 8-2 11. Junction Routes 18-106  “
The window air conditioning unit was able to be purchased in 1931. According to Popular Mechanics, it was quite a thing to boast about!
History compiled by J. Rose.